Skip to content

Glitter Ritz Rosette Tutorial

December 25, 2010

I couldn’t wait let’s start off with something NEW! Recall the post that brought you here? (click here in case you’ve forgotten)
See the glitter rosette, flower, thingy? The idea came to me a few days ago but I needed the guts to carry it through to see how well it would work.

This tutorial is dedicated to Haroldine Wingfield (of Be Creative Tape) and Deanna Pannell (of Glitter Ritz). If it wasn’t for these two fabulous ladies creatively brainstorming, we wouldn’t have that amazing Burnished Velvet Glitter Technique! Ladies, you rock glittery goodness!

Here’s what I used:
20mm (3/4″) Be Creative Tape
Glitter Ritz Microfine Glitter – Mystique
scrap paper
Glitter Magnet by Be Creative (I really could have used mine and would have but I couldn’t find it! Boy did I need it!)
1 1/2″ cardstock circle
adhesive
piercer & mat
brad

Now I don’t normally give a warning at the beginning of tutorials but this one is NOT for the glitter-a-phobic! On the plus side you WILL be all sparkly after! 😀

I would like to make 3 feet of glittery goodness! The rosette uses just over 1 foot (30 cm), I didn’t want to run out plus I could use the rest another day.

To make it manageable start off by unrolling the tape a few inches at a time, over top the scrap piece of paper. This tape is REALLY STICKY, avoid touching the tape with your fingers.
Add glitter. Sprinkle over top and using a few fingers, rub the glitter into the tape.

By rubbing, it does 2 things. 1) It makes sure the glitter sticks to the tape 2) the oils from your fingers, brightens or polishes the glitter and gives it that soft velvety feel.

Keep unrolling the tape, inch by inch adding glitter and burnishing as you go!

I tried to keep most of the glitter on the scrap piece of paper best I could some ended up on my craft sheet, some ended up on me, on the floor…luckily the cat didn’t walk into the room! I think he knew to stay away!

Keep the tape roll away from the glittery action end to prevent the roll from getting all sparkly!
Be careful as the release paper on the back can be a little staticy where the glitter will stick to it.

No worries! Just put your index finger and thumb on the tape and pull the glitter towards the roll. It’s best illustrated like when…you’re eating a freezie and your pulling the yummy icy bits towards your mouth.

When you’ve glittered enough cut off the tape from the roll then glitter and burnish to the end!

At this point you’ll want to funnel your glitter back into the jar. Gather as much as you can but I don’t suggest in cleaning up just yet!

Peel back the release paper.

Remove the release paper a couple of inches at a time, again sprinkling glitter and burnishing.

Sprinkling more glitter and don’t stop burnishing…

It’s a lot easier to manage this time because you can easily pile the glitter ribbon on the table top.

Continue through the whole length until finished to the end.

Collect up all the glitter back into the jar. Brush any excess glitter off the ribbon onto the scrap and collect it too. I had 1/2 a jar of glitter left when I was done. WAIT! I guess I should clarify, I started with about 1/2 a jar of glitter to start! LOL

I went through the strip just rubbing it between my fingers a couple of times.

I found that after I had burnished and brushed off any excess that there was minimal glitter that came off of it.

Thank you Lisa S. for showing me to think outside the box and glitter BOTH sides of the tape! 🙂

Here’s the yummy glittery goodness!

I normally keep the release paper (the backing) for other projects but I didn’t want to go through the hassle of removing the stray bits of glitter.

Next, add adhesive to the 1 1/2″ circle covering it completely. I don’t suggest using Be Creative tape for this part as it’s not as forgiving if you need to make an adjustment. I just used ATG tape.

Place an end of the glitter ribbon about 1/4 inch from the edge of the circle.

Gather it a little

and fold it over, making a pleat.

Repeat.

and repeat…

Repeat all the way around the circle. If you make a mistake or don’t like the way it lies in an area, you can easily pull it up and pleat it just the way you like it.

It’s looking pretty neat already. Here’s what it looks like from the back. Doesn’t it bring up possibilities for other projects?

When you reach the beginning, move down 1/4″ from the bottom of the first row of ribbon and pleat around making a little larger pleats.

As you reach the beginning again, move toward the centre and place the ribbon over the centre. So when you look at it, you have 2 rows of pleated ribbon. (below I’ve gone around 2 1/2 times, I didn’t like the look so I redid it to go around twice)

Cut the ribbon.

Here’s what it looks like when it’s finished. (I think this was when I realized it was looking at little wonky with it being uneven)

Place the rosette over a piercing mat and piece a hole through the centre.

Add the brad.

Remember, when you were adding the pleats, you were squishing it down? You’ll want to fluff it up a little to give it a some dimension. (I fixed the rosette in this pic)

And I have 2 feet of glittery goodness ribbon that I can use for another project! *grin*

There you have it! I would love to hear what you think as well as other things you’d like to see! And I would LOVE to see what you would do with this!!

Happy, happy sparkly holidays! 😀

Love,

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ava permalink
    December 25, 2010 4:46 pm

    that sure is a beauty………the color is a beautiful jewel color. nice
    ava
    cottagerca

  2. December 26, 2010 2:25 pm

    Wow…I love how the glitter looks on the tape, and I would have never thought to use it on both sides. I must try it, thanks so much for the tips..Nice color also.

  3. February 14, 2011 10:35 pm

    Very clever.
    Kyles =D

Trackbacks

  1. Life is Beautiful | The Blog that Spike Built

Leave a Reply

