Skip to content

Adding some sparkle and zest to embossing paste

May 3, 2013

When I thought to try this technique idea, I was trying to figure out if I could colour embossing paste other than painting it over top when it’s dry? What if I wanted it to be a uniform colour throughout? What if I wanted it to be blingy? Oh these crazy questions I ponder just before going to bed which sometimes keeps me awake wondering… I hope I’m not the only one that does! LOL

Alrighty, let’s jump in!

EPTut1_Spike

The supplies to start… Lemon Zest Dylusions Ink Spray (but of course any colour works), white Wendy Vecchi Embossing Paste, Tropical Tangerine Dry Glitter (yes, any glitter will do), tiny cup (I used the cap of a Dylusions spray bottle), palette knife and a pipette. Just a note: I have only tried this with Wendy’s white paste and I think as long as it has the same consistency and texture as Wendy’s, it would work. I cannot vouch if it would work with any other as I have not tried it.

EPTut2_Spike

I scooped out some embossing paste about the size of a chick pea and placed it into the cup. (If you need more then use more but if you’re using it on a stencil keep in mind a little goes a long way. Although you do want to make enough because it may not be the same if you need to remake it.)

EPTut3_Spike

Start with 1 drop first, Dylusions ink is pretty concentrated. In the end, I used 2 or 3 drops of the Dylusions Ink.

EPTut4_Spike

Mix it up until the colour is thoroughly blended. Check to see if the colour is to your liking, you may need to add more.

EPTut5_Spike

(I had a glitteralanche when I tried to remove the protective seal so I had more glitter than I needed. Note: when removing the protective seal…maybe have something underneath to catch any stray glitter…I learned that today, the hard way!) I used about the same amount of glitter that’s sitting on the craft mat. Mix it up and if you feel you need more, go for it!

EPTut6_Spike

I couldn’t resist using this wonderful sparkly goodness in my art journal using the Crafter’s Workshop Stencil #171, The Tree of Life.

EPTut7_Spike

It’s tough to capture the sparkle in a photo, I tried best I could but that’s almost as tough as herding cats!

EPTut8_Spike

It’s a titch better in this photo but it may be that I’m just trying to see things! Give it a go and you’ll see what I mean ;)

If you do, I’d LOVE to see what you did! Just leave a link in the comments of this post and I’ll come by and check it out!

Thanks for dropping in today and hope you get inky soon :)

Love,

Supplies used (which you can find at Inspiration Emporium)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    May 3, 2013 4:22 am

    This looks great, I would love to try it thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

