Skip to content

A Dylusional Resist

April 26, 2013

I received a few questions for the technique I used for last week’s Easy Peasy card and since I had taken photos along the way, I thought I could put together a photographic tutorial for you today. I do write/describe the steps down on the Easy Peasy’s posts but it’s always nice to see it in action!

TTApril25a

I just used 100 pound white card stock, Distress Embossing Ink (any embossing ink will work) and the snowflake stamp from the mini Holidays set.

TTApril25b

Stamp snowflakes in embossing ink all over card stock.

TTApril25c

Sprinkle clear OR white embossing powder all over.

TTApril25d

Melt embossing powder with heat tool to set

TTApril25e

Spray Dylusions Spray Ink, I used London Blue, over cardstock

TTApril25f

(apologizes for the next few blurry photos)
Quickly blot spray ink with paper towel. If you leave it too long, the ink can seep underneath the embossed snowflakes but not if a heavier card stock is used.

TTApril25g

Wipe over the embossed snowflakes with a baby wipe to remove the excess spray ink. Wait to air dry. I don’t suggest using a heat tool as the embossing powder may re-melt and change the look.

TTApril25h

Once dry, stamp snowflakes in Cobalt Archival ink over top in open spaces

TTApril25i

Voila! It’s done!

EasyPeasy50_Spike

Here’s the card again with it all together

I only used one colour of Dylusions Ink spray but of course you can use more! I also suggest using pearlescent or incandescent embossing powder to add decadence.

Have fun with it! :)

I was reminded last week if I had done the draw (Apologies!! I had honestly forgot!) from the Faux Cloisonne Technique post from a while back.
I wrote everyone’s names who commented from both this blog and the tutorial blog on pieces of paper (I was feeling a little ‘ole fashioned!) and had hubby do the draw….*drum roll please* and the winner is…JESSI!!! Wahoo!! Congrats Jessi! Just drop me an email and I’ll get the extra Faux Cloissone wing plus a few extra crafting goodies to you :)

Love,

(Don’t forget you can pick your supplies at the Inspiration Emporium and use the code: spikealicious for 10% off!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda S. in NE permalink
    April 26, 2013 12:47 pm

    Another beautiful technique. I had never heard of, nor experienced inks being able to migrate under embossed images when using thinner weight cardstock. Might make for an interesting, unique look, but in my case, it would occur on the one project I needed/wanted to be “perfect”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

