Skip to content

Burnished Velvet Cool Highlight Glitter with Scenic Stamps

June 1, 2012

What inspired me to quickly whip up this tutorial was that for Easy Peasy Christmas cards, I had used this technique and it’s been a while since I’ve done it. I’m sure many of you have too but I thought, what the heck let’s rediscover it! LOL

Using the microfine highlight glitters by Glitter Ritz really make scenic images and detailed images stand out.

I’m using an old Cornish Heritage Farms, Thomas Kinkade Stamp Vintage Christmas Expressions.

Because the stamps are so intricately detailed (they were “laser” cut), I’ve hauled out the spongy stamping mat (that burgundy mat) to ensure the image stamps evenly.

The image was stamped in Ranger Archival Ink, Cobalt Blue. I then took a yellow tombow marker and added some colour to the street lamp and moon. I could have left that out or coloured it in a little more. I just wanted a little colour but not too much as I didn’t want to spend a lot of time on it. (remember, it was for Easy Peasy Christmas cards)

I didn’t take a pic of the next step as I didn’t have an extra hand but cover the image with Be Creative tape. I LOVE, LOVE the super wide tape :)

I thought to try a close up of the cool microfine highlight glitter just because.

What I like to do is pull back the release paper a little (rather than removing it completely) and hold everything firmly down while adding the glitter and burnishing. Now when you burnish (rub it in), you don’t just move around the glitter. You DO want to apply a little pressure and rub it into the tape and around.
Why burnish? To make sure the glitter sticks to the tape AND the oils from your fingers polish the glitter making it brighter. (I usually use a few fingers and get right in there but I didn’t want to get glitter on the camera when moving it around hence the wussy burnishing pose)

I love it!! It looks like a sparkly snowstorm!!

Here’s the finished card:

Pictures just don’t do it justice!!!

You’ve got all the deets here but if you’d like you can find the Easy Peasy Christmas Cards post here.

I just wanted to thank Deanna Parnell and Haroldine Wingfield as they are to credit for this technique. It’s like the…hey…you’ve got your peanut butter in my chocolate! LOL As Haroldine had the Be Creative tape, Deanna had the glitter and together they came up with the technique. Thanks soooo much ladies!!!

Thanks for dropping in today!!

Love,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley permalink
    June 1, 2012 9:11 am

    Spike you did it again ! Now my brain is working overtime with stamps that would be great
    doing this, love it !!!

    Shirley McCullough

  2. Lynne permalink
    June 1, 2012 11:11 am

    Hi Spike,

    Thanks for the refresher regarding Glitter

    • June 1, 2012 12:33 pm

      You are very welcome Lynne! We have soooo many products and techniques at our disposal and quite often forget about them when we learn new ones. Glad you enjoyed it!

      ~Spike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

